FAIRHAVEN (WBSM) — Fairhaven held its 2024 municipal election Monday, and here are the unofficial results.

Both Andrew Saunders (1,324 votes) and Andrew Romano (1,230) were elected to three-year seats on the Select Board. They defeated Patrick Carr (1,085), Donna McKenna (848) and Jean Lemieux (365) for the seats.

There were two races for the Planning Board. Incumbent Jessica Fidalgo (1,435 votes) was re-elected to one of two four-year terms. The other winner was current appointee Diane Tomassetti (1,326 votes). Jeffrey Lucas, another incumbent, was third with 1,119 votes.

The other Planning Board race, for a one-year term, was won by Rick Trapilo with 1,003 votes. He beat out Karyn Ferreira (864 votes) and Despina Longinidis (296).

Current School Committee appointee Nicole Pacheco won a full three-year term with 1,571 votes and incumbent Colin Veitch (1,537 votes) was re-elected as well. Erik Baumann (824 votes) was edged out.

Brendalee Smith also won a one-year term with 1,610 votes.

WBSM-AM/AM 1420 logo
Get our free mobile app

Other contested race results include the Board of Health, where Barbara Acksen (1,288 votes) topped Sheila Dolan (1,013). Hillary Rotondo (1,451) and incumbent Robert Hobson (1,321) won seats on the Board of Public Works.

Fairhaven voters also voted not to make the currently-elected position of Town Clerk an appointed one instead. The vote was 1,407 votes against compared to 981 votes for the proposed change.

New Bedford Mayors

New Bedford has had 49 different mayors, along with two acting mayors and one interim mayor.

Gallery Credit: Tim Weisberg

More From WBSM-AM/AM 1420