DARTMOUTH - The race for two seats on the School Committee came down to the wire as results rolled into Town Hall Tuesday evening, with one incumbent took the top spot while the other was defeated by newcomer Kathleen Amaral. 

Amaral topped incumbent Christopher Garth by only 37 votes (1,798 – 1,761). Incumbent Carol Karafotis took the top School Committee spot with 2,174 votes.

Amaral said she was grateful for the support from voters and that she believes she can bring some positive attributes to the table.

"I think that people would say that I'm an incredibly thoughtful, active listener and I research fiercely and collaborate naturally," Amaral said.

In the race for Select Board, incumbent Stanley Mickelson defeated Lorri-Ann Miller 1,814 – 1,573 for his second term on the board.

Mickelson said he hopes to be an ally in government to those who cast a ballot in his favor as well as those who may not have.

"I want to thank all the residents that did vote for me and I want to assure the residents that did not vote for me that I will put as much into my efforts in the town as a select board member representing them just as importantly as the residents that did vote for me," Mickelson said.

The final contested item on the ballot was the question of whether to support a temporary tax increase to fund a new $13.4 million police station on Tucker Rd., which passed 2,347 – 1,128.

Full voter turnout was 3,565 of 22,679 registered voters, 15.17%.


Non-contested races:


  • Robert Michaud

Trustee of Free Public Libraries:

  • Wendy Sue Garf-Lipp
  • Suzanne McDonald

Member of Board of Health:

  • Thomas Hardman

Member of Planning Board:

  • Joel Avila

Member of Board of Park Commissioners:

  • Sherri Tetrault

More From WBSM-AM/AM 1420