Firefighters from across Massachusetts are being honored for their heroism and bravery.

The 24th annual Firefighter of the Year awards are scheduled for Thursday at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s Kresge Auditorium.

The Medal of Valor, Individual Meritorious Conduct, Group Meritorious Conduct, the Norman Knight for Excellence in Community Service and the Fire Marshal’s award will be handed out.

Firefighters from Acushnet, Beverly, Boston, Brockton, Cambridge, Chelmsford, Chelsea, Gloucester, Holden, Lynn, Marshfield, Massport, Quincy, Salem, Scituate, Stoughton, Watertown and Weymouth will be honored.

Gov. Deval Patrick, Public Safety and Security Secretary Andrea Cabral and State Fire Marshal Stephen Coan are scheduled to attend.  (Associated Press)