Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Clayton Kershaw and Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim outfielder Mike Trout are Major League Baseball's Most Valuable Players this season.

Kershaw received 18-of-30 first-place votes to take National League honors. He beat out Miami Marlins outfielder Giancarlo Stanton and Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen, who won last season.

Kershaw also claimed the NL Cy Young Award on Wednesday and is the first pitcher to win both awards in the National League in the same season since the St. Louis Cardinals' Bob Gibson in 1968.

Mike Trout / Getty Images
Mike Trout / Getty Images

After finishing second in the voting the last two years, Trout won in the American League in unanimous fashion. He received all 30 first-place votes this time to beat out Detroit Tigers designated hitter Victor Martinez and Cleveland Indians outfielder Michael Brantley.  (Metro Networks Inc)

More From WBSM-AM/AM 1420