Detroit Tigers pitcher Max Scherzer is the winner of the American League Cy Young Award.

Scherzer received 28 of the 30 first-place votes after finishing 21-and-3 with a 2.90 ERA in 32 starts this past season.

Texas' Yu Darvish finished second, while Seattle's Hisashi Iwakuma was third.

The 29-year-old Scherzer is the second Tigers pitcher to capture the AL Cy Young in the last three years, joining 2011 winner Justin Verlander.

Los Angeles Dodgers southpaw Clayton Kershaw won the National League Cy Young Award.   

Kershaw received 29 of the possible 30 first-place votes to capture his second Cy Young in three seasons. 

He is just the sixth left-hander to win the award multiple times.  The 25-year-old led the majors with a 1.83 ERA.  He finished 16-and-9 with 232 strikeouts in 236 innings over 33 starts. 

St. Louis' Adam Wainwright finished second, while Miami rookie Jose Fernandez was third.  (Metro Networks Inc.)