NEW BEDFORD - 36 people, including eleven incumbents, are running for political office in New Bedford ahead of the upcoming elections.

The deadline to officially confirm nominations was Tuesday.

Mayor Jon Mitchell faces two challengers including police officer Charles Perry, Jr.

The New Bedford City Council will have three open seats in wards one, two, and five. Councillors Jim Oliveira and Kerry Winterson are not seeking re-election and Councillor Steve Martins is running for assessor against Marty Treadup.

School Committee members Dr. Larry Finnerty and Joaquim Nobrega are also finishing out their current terms without seeking re-election, leaving Josh Amaral as the only incumbent up for re-election during this cycle, with challenges from Colleen Dawicki, John Oliveira, and Richard Porter. Margaret Amaral had considered a run for School Committee, but has officially withdrawn her nomination.

Candidates have until Friday, September 1, to withdraw.

Officially filed candidates:

  • Assessor
    • Martin "Marty" Treadup*
    • Steven Martins
  • Councillor-At-Large
    • Brian K. Gomes*
    • Christopher W. Boerl
    • Debora Coelho*
    • Ian Abreu*
    • Linda M. Morad*
    • Michael Janson
    • Naomi R. A. Carney*
  • Mayor
    • Charles P. Perry, Jr.
    • Jon Mitchell*
    • Mitchell Garner
  • School Committee
    • Colleen Dawicki
    • John A. Oliveira
    • Josh Amaral*
    • Richard A. Porter III
  • Ward 1
    • Christopher Amaral
    • Daniel B. Costa
    • Mark R. Ventura
    • Melissa M. Costa
    • Randy J. Santos
    • Steven J. Caton
    • William Brad Markey
  • Ward 2
    • Carlos Pimental Felix
    • Edwin A. Cartagena
    • Maria E. Giesta
  • Ward 3
    • Hugh Dunn*
  • Ward 4
    • Dana Rebeiro*
    • Joseph "Jo-Jo" Fortes
    • Kenneth Gilbert
  • Ward 5
    • David Sullivan
    • Kathleen P. Towers
    • Nelson Macedo
    • Paul E. Chasse
    • Scott J. Lima
  • Ward 6
    • Joseph P. Lopes*


More From WBSM-AM/AM 1420