BOSTON — A New Bedford manufacturing based company has been chosen to receive the Massachusetts Manufacturer of the Year Award at the State House in Boston.

Each year, the Massachusetts Manufacturing Caucus recognizes highly deserved businesses with their Manufacturer of the Year award at the State House in Boston. Speakers at the event this year included House Speaker Robert DeLeo, co-chairs of the caucus Sen. Eric Lesser and Rep. Jeffrey Roy, Housing and Development Secretary Michael Kennealy and Associated Industries of Massachusetts Vice President of Governmental Affairs Brooke Thomson

Representative Paul A. Schmid (D-Westport) nominated AHEAD USA Manufacturers as his choice for this year's awards.

“They do wonderful work and they provide good paying jobs and work environments that show the best products that are being made today are still coming from Massachusetts!” said Schmid.

On hand for the award ceremony were CEO Anne Broholm and Director of Operations Barbara Casagrande who made their way to the State House to accept the award.

AHEAD USA, founded in 1995, is a multi-faceted brand company, with a manufacturing plant located in the New Bedford Industrial Park, that distributes headwear, apparel, and accessories aimed at green grass, resorts, and other corporate markets. The company produces apparel worn by athletes such as golfers Arnold Palmer, Jim Furyk, Jack Nicklaus, and Annika Sorenstam.

WBSM-AM/AM 1420 logo
Get our free mobile app

More From WBSM-AM/AM 1420