Cleveland Indians skipper Terry Francona is the American League Manager of the Year.

Francona received 16 first-place votes to edge out Boston Red Sox manager John Farrell and Oakland A's skipper Bob Melvin.

Farrell got 12 first-place votes, while Melvin received two.

Francona guided the Tribe to a 92-and-70 record and a second-place finish in the AL Central, earning an American League Wild Card berth.  (Metro Networks Inc.)

More From WBSM-AM/AM 1420