tsm - file photo
tsm - file photo

 The New Bedford City Council last night honored four Councillors who are leaving the Council in January. 

Among them was City Council President Bruce Duarte, who served for six years.  Duarte sought re-election, but was defeated in November.   

He spoke about his simple approach to helping the people of Ward Four...

The council presented official resolutions to Councilor Duarte as well as Councillors Denis Lawrence, Jane Gonsalves, and John Saunders for their longtime service on the Council.  Their terms come to an end on January 6th. 

Fellow Councilors last night took time to share memories and congratulate the departing members.

More From WBSM-AM/AM 1420