ACUSHNET — It was an election that was as short on drama as it was on voter turnout.

Of the 7,431 registered voters in Acushnet, 393 cast ballots on Monday--about a five percent voter turnout.

The only real intrigue was on the ballot's lone question, whether or not to prohibit non-medical marijuana establishments to operate in the town. Voters approved the question, 205-139, prohibiting all types of recreational marijuana establishments such as marijuana cultivators, independent testing laboratories, marijuana product manufacturers, marijuana retailers or any other type of licenses marijuana-related businesses.

As for the individual races, although the results are unofficial at this time, it's pretty easy to say who won each office in Acushnet's town election, because everyone was running unopposed.

Current Chairman of Selectmen Kevin Gapsar, Sr. was elected to another three-year term, with 305 votes. Board of Health member David M. Davignon won another three-year term with 317 votes. Also winning re-election was Assessor Matthew D. Lopes (305 votes), Planning Commissioner Bryan Deschamps (299 votes) and Cemetery Board member Paul H. Fortin (321 votes).

Craig Sumner (300 votes) was elected to a three-year term on the School Committee, and Jennifer S. Downing (306 votes) was elected for the remainder of the unexpired term on the School Committee ending April 1, 2019.

Chad W. Leclair (302 votes) was elected to a three-year term on the Park Commission, while Michael A. Matton (318 votes) was elected to the remainder of the unexpired term ending on April 6, 2020. Nicholas A. Gomes (318 votes) was elected for the remainder of the term as Moderator, also ending April 6, 2020.

Diane Ferreira (274 votes) and Jennifer M. Alves (252 votes) were both elected to three-year terms as Library Trustees.

With no one officially running for a three-year term as Commissioner of Trust Funds, Town Clerk Pamela Labonte tells WBSM News the write-in candidates will now be hand counted. Whoever gets the most write-in votes will then be offered the position; if they decline, it will be up to the Board of Selectmen to appoint someone for the position.

More From WBSM-AM/AM 1420