NEW BEDFORD - The City of New Bedford has sworn in three new police officers.

Officers Turner Ryan, Victoria Wagner, and Timothy DaCosta were sworn into the ranks of the New Bedford Police Department in a City Hall ceremony Tuesday afternoon.

Officer Ryan was a part time police officer in Mattapoisett, and completed six months of police academy training to join New Bedford.

Officer DaCosta was motivated to become an officer watching his father's career as a state trooper.

Officer Wagner says she has always wanted to be a police officer, proving it by earning the Top Academic Award in her police academy class.

More From WBSM-AM/AM 1420