The International Portuguese Music Awards organizers are proud to announce this year’s class of IPMA nominees for their 8th annual award show. IPMA will present its awards on Saturday, April 25, at the majestic Zeiterion Theatre located in historic downtown New Bedford, Massachusetts at 6:30 pm.

Portuguese-American actress Daniela Ruah will host the 2020 IPMA Show. She is best known for playing NCIS Special Agent Kensi Blye in the CBS police series NCIS: Los Angeles for the past 11 seasons. Daniela has co-hosted the show "Super Bowl's Greatest Commercials" with Boomer Esiason and in 2019 co-hosted the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon, Portugal.

Awards will be presented in thirteen different categories. This year’s nominee’s hail from eight different countries and five continents. In addition, two artists have been chosen as finalists in the “New Talent” category. They will compete by performing live at the awards show. The winner will be chosen by a panel of music professionals and announced during the event.

The nominees are as follows:

Music Video of the Year
"Holy, My Heart” by Nikita Afonso, Directed by Mitch Francis (USA)
“Every Day All Day” by Nelson Freitas, Directed by Paperclips Media (NETHERLANDS)
“1 Minuto” by The Code, Directed by Line Up Productions (PORTUGAL)
“Psycho” by Tyler & Ryan, Directed by Mitch Francis (USA)

“Prelude - Cello Suite N. 1 in G Major” by Rodrigo Serrão (PORTUGAL)
“Nollaig” by ZZmartins (PORTUGAL)
“Douro” by José Luis Iglesias (USA)
“Mister Machado” by Nelson Conceição (PORTUGAL)

World Music
“Luz Brando Di Bo Olhar” by Assol Garcia (USA)
“Devin” by Dan Tibério (FRANCE)
“Chega de Saudade” by Lindsey Camara (CANADA)
“Samba Português” by Fátima Fonseca (BRAZIL)

“As Palmas” by Myrica Faya (PORTUGAL)
“Maria Faia” by Tony Gouveia (CANADA)
“Charolesca” by Nelson Conceição (PORTUGAL)
“Canção Açoreana” by Fátima Santos (USA)

“Quando Me Encontro” by Sarah Pacheco (USA)
“Meu é Amor Marinheiro” by Maura (PORTUGAL)
“A Rosa de Dores” by Cordeone (USA)
“Um Quarto Para as Duas” by Carlos Leitão (PORTUGAL)

“Blame It” by Andre Aires (PORTUGAL)
“Energy” by Nelson Rego (USA)
“Dance With You” by Sabrina Alves (SOUTH AFRICA)
“Neon Heart” by Sir Matty V (USA)

“Nutso” by Nutso (USA)
“Quero Andar Contigo” by Andy Scotch (PORTUGAL)
“1991” by Jayjezz (LUXEMBOURG)
“Captain Sun” by My Mysterious Friend (CANADA)

“Change is Coming” by Josh Pereira (USA)
“Vai” by The Code (PORTUGAL)
“Pretend” by FirstBourne (USA)
“Don't Ask Don't Tell” by Social Hysteria (CANADA)

“Let Me Ask You” by Roy Job (USA)
“O Melhor Lugar” by A.M.A. - Amar Mais Agora (PORTUGAL)
“Amores Proibidos” by Sarah Pacheco (USA)
“Distraction” by Tyler & Ryan (USA)

Musica Popular
“Já te Esqueci” by Safira (PORTUGAL)
“Mas Sou Portugês” by Zé Duarte (USA)
“Cinderela” by Michelle Madeira (CANADA)
“Há Mulherada (Há Caipirinha)” by Joey Medeiros (USA)

New Talent
Peter Serrado (CANADA)

Song of the Year
“Xtoria D'bo Manera” by Roy Job (USA), written by Roy Job
“Par Serment” by Dan Tibério (FRANCE), written by Dan Tibério, Michel Handson
“Nutso” by Nutso (USA), written by Lafayette Azevedo
“Meu Amor Meu Amante” by Sarah Pacheco (USA), written by Sarah Pacheco, Minah Jardim

An additional category is the Azores Airlines People’s Choice category. This is the only category voted on by the general public via online votes on the website. The voting process is expected to commence next month. The public should stay tuned to the IPMA Facebook page for more information in the coming days.

More From WBSM-AM/AM 1420