The seventh annual International Portuguese Music Awards (IPMA) took place this past weekend, May 18, at the Zeiterion Theater. Since 2013, the International Portuguese Music Awards has aimed to globally recognize and advance the music produced by artists of Portuguese descent.

Awards were handed out to the following artists:
Music Video of the Year - “Vai” by The Code, Director: Line Up Productions (Portugal)

Instrumental - “Ode to Joe” by Pedro Silva (USA)
World Music - “Nôs Morna” by Cremilda Medina and Tito Paris (Cape Verde)
Traditional - “Ai Ai Vizinho” by Ronda da Madrugada (Portugal)
Fado - “Quadras Soltas de Pessoa” by Cordeone (France)
Dance - “Dance With You” by Sabrina Alves (South Africa)
Rap/Hip-Hop - “Nutso” by Nutso (USA)
Rock - “Don’t Ask Don’t Tell” by Social Hysteria (Canada)
Pop - “Amores Proibidos” by Sarah Pacheco (USA)
Musica Popular - “Cinderela” by Michelle Madeira (Canada)
New Talent - Peter Serrado (Canada)
Song of the Year - “Xtoria D'bo Manera” by Roy Job (USA), written by Roy Job and Kyle Job
Azores Airlines People’s Choice - “Ai Ai Vizinho” by Ronda da Madrugada (Portugal)

The People’s Choice award was voted on by the general public via the IPMA website. Votes from101 countries were collected. The award show featured performances by João Pedro Pais, Rita Guerra, hip hop legend Sam the Kid, Cordeone, The Code, Rebecca Correia, and guitar virtuoso Nuno Bettencourt from the band Extreme with special guest Kevin Figueiredo.

More From WBSM-AM/AM 1420