Here's the results from New Bedford's Municipal Election Tuesday.

The outcome of the at-large council race contained a major surprize.  Former Councilor Naomi Carney edged incumbant John Saunders for the fifth and final at large seat.  The top vote getter was former Ward One Councilor Linda Morad, followed by incumbents Brian Gomes, Debra Coelho, and David Alves.

New Bedford's ward races are bringing two new names to the City Council. Dana Rebeiro will be taking over the Ward Four seat currently held by Bruce Duarte. Jane Gonsalves' Ward Five seat will be relinquished to Kerry Winterson after his win over Jan Baptist. And Joe Lopes will serve another two years in Ward Six, after earning nearly 1,000 votes more than challenger Ian Saunders.

There's a fresh face on the School Committee with Josh Amaral placing second in Tuesday's election. Ahead of Amaral was incumbent Dr. Lawrence Finnerty. Rounding out the top three was long-time school committeeman, Jack Nobrega.

Voter turnout for Tuesday's election was just over 18%.