Referee Explains Patriots Penalty
Referee Jerome Boger explained in a pool report the penalty committed by Patriots defensive tackle Chris Jones that gave the Jets another chance to kick in overtime yesterday.
Pool reporter Mike Reiss asked Boger: "Please explain the penalty that was called on Number 94 (Jones) on the field goal."
Boger: "The call was that #94 on the defense pushed his teammate into the formation. That is a rule change for 2013 that a teammate cannot push a teammate into the opponents formation."
Reiss: "Is it any type of push? Is it a two-handed push?"
Boger: :Any push. It could be with the body, not necessarily with the hand, but with the body, into his teammate, into the formation. It's any type of pushing action."
Reiss: Is there anything else to go over with this penalty?"
Boger: No, the umpire's flag went up almost instantaneously as he observed the action. We just enforced it when we called it."
Reiss: "And that;s a 15-yard penalty?"
Boger: "For unsportsmanlike conduct."