Voters in Dartmouth made it no contest in the race for Select Board, as former Selectman and State Representative John George won the open seat in a landslide.

Candidates for public office in Dartmouth watch as returns come into the Town Clerk's office Tuesday night.
Photo Credit: TSM

George captured 80-percent of the vote over newcomer Patrick Curran. Tuesday's results also saw voters support changing to a mayoral, or town manager, style of government through a non-binding ballot question. George thinks a change in governing would be a big challenge for the town.

Another non-binding referendum saw voters narrowly favor allowing the construction of large solar farms in residential zones. The new Parks and Recreation Board's first five members were also chosen from seven candidates in the running. James Bosworth, Lisa Tavares, Sherri Tetrault, and James and Joseph Vieira will form the new committee. Voter turnout for Tuesday's elections, was just under 12-percent.