Twelve police officers from six Massachusetts departments have received bravery awards.

The annual George L. Hanna Awards for Bravery are named for a state trooper who was shot and killed during a 1983 traffic stop in Auburn.

The Medal of Honor, the highest award, was presented to Lowell Officer Patrick Casey during a Statehouse ceremony Tuesday.

In August 2014, during a routine traffic stop, Casey was fired upon by the occupant of the car. Casey returned fire, hitting the man twice, then helped other officers apprehend the fleeing suspect.

Officers from Boston, Chelsea, Worcester, Webster and the Massachusetts State Police were honored with Medals of Valor.

Gov. Charlie Baker said the officers ``were among the greatest heroes among us,'' and representative of all police officers who put themselves at risk.  (Associated Press)